GameMaker Studio and me

I’ve been fiddling around with GameMaker Studio a bit kind of recently. You can get it for free on Steam (there is a paid version as well, not sure what the differences are). I started out just fiddling with stuff, adding all the free stuff from the marketplace to my library (for whatever reason), but then I found this website. I started with the written tutorials and kind of made a little Asteroid like game.

I’ve since refined it a bunch, added health to the character that sticks below the model, a room timer, a “currency/score”, some pleb ships that sometimes spawn and try and circle you occasionally firing at you, and my favorite thing: a score screen at the end of the first level. I used this place to create a couple sounds which is pretty cool.

Anyways, it only took about 50 hours of fiddling and learning and I was able to create “a level” for a shitty asteroids game. It feels good, I enjoy figuring out how to get things to work. It can get taxing after working a whole day and then in my free time doing this, while this is way more enjoyable than my job and it is fun, it is still taxing on the soul.

Without further ado, here is a link to the install (.exe) of what I have currently in my dumb game if the one person who reads this wants to check it out. As of now the controls are: Arrow Keys, Spacebar to fire, Esc closes the game (if the player is on screen so wont work on score screen).

Leave a Reply

