Darkest Dungeon and a little miscellaneous crap

Miscellaneous crap first cus I’m a CLG fan. I guess the only thing really to talk about here is that I tried Helldivers with my friend. It is a twin stick shooter and from what I saw in the first few levels is completely crap. First mission: Set your landing point right next to the objective, land, capture objective, kill maybe 15 guys with 15 shots, proceed to extraction point, setup a turret and go prone until shuttle arrives. Second misson? Same fuckin thing. Oh hey, leveled up, cool I think. Mission 3, ooo, now there are 2 capture points and 30 bad guys to kill. After we finished that one we were done, both refunded it. Pretty bland copy pasta levels, wouldn’t recommend.

Alright, Darkest Dungeon, a game that can be so fun one moment and then bring you to your knees the next. I’m kinda in love with this game which would explain the 51 hours I have in it since Early Access. The furthest I’ve gotten so far (albeit in a game without corpses) is completing a Short Champion level (level 5) mission. I later tried a Medium Champion mission and lost two of my guys which made me sad. I have since begun a play through with corpses, aka, the way it was meant to be played and it helped open my eyes to the full game. All of a sudden these stupid characters that were pointless to use had purpose, which really only served to make the game more difficult for the way my dumb brain works.

I like structure and what I mean by that is like a method, a uniform way to proceed with the task at hand. The task at hand being making it to the Darkest Dungeon (level 6) and eventually winning. In my head the best way to do this is to find one composition that I like and duplicating it throughout my roster. So if I take my best guys out and a couple get hurt and need to heal, I can just load up the next team of 4, identical classes, and get right back out there. Now, with the right trinkets this is almost completely possible, the one hitch being The Ruins and its goddamn skeletons. Some places have high blight resists which means no Plague Doctor because his poison wont land, but, if you get the right trinkets (which I am lucky to have) you can increase their blight skill success chance to like 170%, meaning if they have 70% resists, you’re still going to poison them. Those trinkets have helped me immensely in crafting my squads as I can now take a Plague Doctor on every mission which is invaluable being able to dot the 2 back line enemies for 5 dmg a turn plus 1-2 for the initial landing of the dot. It works especially well in places that are more susceptible to bleeds because then I’m blighting and bleeding all them mfkers turn 1 and half of them are dead before they even get to do anything.

But, since the Ruins has fucking skeletons I have to find another way, which is pretty much just, replace Jester and maybe Houndmaster with like Bounty Hunter and Highwayman. I say maybe Houndmaster because even though I use him for bleeds, his ranged “sick ’em” dog attack can do okay damage to any enemy, and if the target is marked it can do even more. Sure the bleeds wont land but usually even in the Ruins you will run into some that can be bled, including bosses.

I don’t really have a set composition right now. It used to be Hellion, Bounty Hunter, Occulist, Plague Doctor but I really like incorporating a Jester now for the stress heals. It seems like my best option now really is to just check out the missions first, find the one I’d like to do the most, figure out what the mob resists are like there, and build a team accordingly.

Anyways, this game is pretty awesome and you should totally buy it bitch!

Leave a Reply

