Nuclear Throne and WTF was I thinking?

Well I bought Nuclear Throne yesterday and dove right in. My first foray lasted a grand total of 42 minutes before I got tired of dying at almost the same level every time lol. I’m not sure what I was thinking, I’m sure I could get further if I made it my main game but there isn’t anything about it that can really make it main game worthy for me. I ended with 109 minutes for the day, I think the furthest level I got to was 3-2 whatever that means.

There is some enjoyment to be had though, sometimes you’re just on point shooting 2 pistol shots at everything like a fuckin robot and nailing them because I’m superhuman. But then there’s also shit like killing the last guy and the portal to the next level sucking you in before you looted that chest right there. As you kill mobs they drop green shit which is like nuclear waste but since you’re a mutated fuckin thing that is good for you, thus it is your exp. As you level and advance to the next level you can pick a mutation which offers some bonuses.

The furthest I made it spawned some big boss mfker that shot me seeking missiles and shit tons of regular projectiles. I feel like I almost got him cus I hit him with multiple grenades before falling, but I guess I’ll never know. You unlock more characters to play as the further you get and they each have their own bonuses and secondary abilities. Overall it is a pretty fun game and I’ll probably play a few runs for the next few days. I wouldn’t recommend spending the money on it unless you’re okay with this type of game.

After bashing my head into the wall that is Nuclear Throne I had a new urge for something to bash my head against, so I bought with nostalgia on the mind. Golden Axe! This was my jam back when I was 4 or 5 or whatever, I was always the green Dwarf guy with the battleaxe. First I tried Beginner mode which is a joke and felt confident to wander into Arcade mode. My first (and only) run I actually made it to the final boss, fuck yeah go me. I had to use all 3 credits which means I think 12 lives total? lol, but I STILL DID GOOD! At the end of each run the game gives you a grade and I got a C :(.

I really have no idea what I’ll be doing today. Maybe some Darkest Hour though it seems like I’m not going to open that game for some reason. I may buy Rogue Legacy as it is like Nuclear Throne except a little quirkier with random heroes every run who can be like color blind or reverse movement buttons or an actual positive buff. Now it looks more like Darkest Dungeon cus I’m talkin with my roommate about how I’m better than him and he’s not so sure, so, I may have to accept this challenge. We shall see, ggwp, gtfo.

Leave a Reply

