Cool shit

I’ve been bouncing from game to game recently, all leaving me feeling rather unfulfilled.  I think I had like 3 or 4 subs active at one time to different MMOs (AO, SWTOR, DAoC, EVE, and maybe WoW?) and was still trying to find something that could scratch that itch.  I would start a new world in Minecraft and build a cool little cave home under a small waterfall multiple times, I downloaded Freelancer which is old as dirt (and actually had fun for a day), and I played some emulated old games (daoc genesis and swgemu).  Nothing was doing it for me.  I wore myself out on the CSGO matchmaking, it was just too stressful for me for some reason.  Pretty much, the picture I’m trying to paint for you now, is that things weren’t looking very good lol.

But then I remembered something I was going to play with a friend a month or so ago, we had installed it but at the last minute he said he thinks he didn’t want to do it, so I just uninstalled and went about my business.  I remembered the premise of this game/mod/mods during my low point and realized that it checked off a lot of the boxes that I was yearning for in a game at the moment.  Big open world?  Check.  First person shooter?  Check.  Owning things and progressing through effort?  Check.  Danger?  Check.  So what is it you may be asking yourself?  Well, it is a mashup of mods for a mod of a game.  The game is Arma 2: Operation Arrowhead, the mod is DayZ, the mods that are mashed up to make the game are Overwatch and Epoch.  The mod that those two things create?  Overpoch.

Now I was almost always able to enjoy DayZ the mod for the most part, sometimes the travel gets to me but usually I don’t notice it and the time just flies.  What makes this version different is that you can own vehicles and build bases and actually secure these things from theft/destruction with a bit of work.  There are vendors that you can sell items you find to, then use that money to buy just about every item in the game.  If you purchase a vehicle you are given a key for it and you can lock your car so people can’t take things out of it or take the car itself.  They can still shoot the fuck out of it though, so before you get a good car you may want to build yourself a garage first.  Yeah, that’s right, build yourself a garage.  You will most likely start out with wooden walls and such but you can upgrade to I believe Cinder walls which are indestructible.  You can get safes that are locked by a 4 digit code (that you need to write down very quickly after you place it) and your doors can be locked as well.  You can even use your hatchet (or a chainsaw which uses mixed fuel) to chop down trees for wood to start making shit.

I have only been playing for two days now (I believe my toon has been alive like 1 day and 13 hours or so) and while the first day was pretty rough feeling, once you get your bearings it really is a blast.  That said, I haven’t died yet.  I feel like dying could probably put a little damper on my day.  But I would still have my money in a safe in an undisclosed location, not to mention the toolbox you start with can be deployed as a bike (which you can pack back up into a toolbox when you’re done) so getting home after a death won’t be that bad.

What my friend told me to do is get a vehicle, park near a military barracks, go into the barracks and load up on guns, drop em in your vehicle, rinse repeat until vehicle and person are full.  Then you go to the trader (though I have heard you can get your vehicle stolen there in the safe zone somehow, so I park a ways away and bike back and forth just in case) and sell all your shit.  From there you can buy food/drinks/ammo/guns/medical supplies/building supplies/ or vehicles, no problem.  The tricky part though, is once you leave the safe zone around the trader, you may get shot at by jerkoffs with sniper rifles.

One of my first trips to the trader led to me buying an ATV for like 2 gold.  When I left I began taking fire, I swerved a lot and luckily the guy missed every shot cus he’s a newb, but it sure would have sucked if he hit me.  My only other encounter with someone was while I was filling up on more weapons to sell at a barracks.  I stepped out and saw him and he shot at me.  I ran back behind the wall, pulled out my M14 AIM (I think) because my pistol is quiet and used for killin zombies that spawn there.  I peeked back around the corner and didn’t see him, so I aggressively pushed out checking to the left as I came around the corner and then I saw him at the very edge of the wall.  I started popping off shots and he got off one I think before I dropped him.  After fighting off all the zombie attention I swung back around to his body to find he only had a rinky dink little Lee Enfield (which I love to use, it isn’t that bad, but against a M14 AIM it is kind of suicide unless you hit the first shot).  I felt bad about it but hey, he shot at me first!

It feels good.  I’ve got a game that I can’t stop thinking about at work, which makes me want to just put my nose to the grindstone to make time fly so I can get home and play more.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.