Time can heal wounds

In games, that is.

I’ve put LOTRO on hold for a little bit, I really do mean to get back to it sometime soon, but I’m just so caught up in a game that is finally starting to feel like it should have in the first place.

That game is Diablo 3. They made it easier to solo Inferno difficulty and also added a Monster Power setting when you choose to Change Quest. You first need to go into your options menu and check the box so that Monster Power will show up in the Change Quest menu. The way Monster Power works is it makes the monsters more, well, powerful. It also increases magic find, gold find, and I think experience gained (for Paragon Levels after reaching level cap, which also give you magic find, gold find, and a small amount of base stats).

It goes from MP0 to MP10 and also affects the drop chance of keys from Keywardens. Keywardens are new mobs that were added, one for each of the first 3 acts, that have a chance to drop a key. These keys are used to craft portals. There are 3 possible portals that it will open so you really want to have 3 of each key before making them so that you can spawn each of the 3 portals instead of getting the same one multiple times. As it will not craft a portal which already exists. In these portals are Uber bosses, bosses from throughout the game made extremely difficult. I don’t know exactly everything that can come from doing this but I do know that you can get mats to craft a Hellfire Ring. It is a legendary ring that is bound to account. It adds a large amount to a base stat (str, int, dex) along with some other random properties and 35% bonus experience. Quite the ring indeed if you get a lucky crit chance roll on it.

When I started playing again I was shocked to see that I could finally solo Act 3 Inferno. I was stuck on the big fart monster Glom or some shit of a name and I was able to kill him on my first try with my old skill setup. I have since changed my skill setup (exactly what I always wanted to not do, I know) and though I don’t have any sort of speed anymore (leap or charge) I still have my Whirlwind, Frenzy, Oh Shit Don’t Die button (with the rune to make my dmg heal myself) and Wrath of the Berserker. I swapped out leap for Warcry with the resist bonus rune, my ae stun was swapped out for Revenge with the rune to increase proc chance.

I started stacking crit and crit damage which increases your dps a crazy amount, like ridiculous. Then I found myself lacking vitality and resists (I was at 20k hp which is like, lol wtf are you doing?) which are very important. My buddy plays a Monk and found a nice guide that had some item wisdom that I found applied to my class as well. Since Chest and Legs cannot get crazy bonuses like crit chance and crit damage, it is best to find one with at least 70 of your main stat, all resist, a BUNCH of vitality (like a lot), and at least 2 sockets to further customize either more main stat or vitality. So I got me some of those and bam, big as fuck.

One of my main gripes was always not finding uniques (legendaries). Well, I can say that has been fixed as well, not only by buffing the legendary items (a lot of them used to be very fucking laughable) but I believe by increasing their drop rate. It may just be my extra paragon levels and monster power affecting the drop rate, but god damn, it seems to have improved a fuck ton.

In one run (act 3, clearing like 6 zones for loots and a keywarden run) I actually got 3 legendaries. One was a weapon I had just bought but it didn’t have the 200 strength mine does (so I wasn’t like, fuck I just wasted money), and I think I got 2 item level 63 Wizard hats (which both suck and don’t sell for shit). Other than that I found many other uniques over the past week of playing, most would not sell for ridiculous amounts of money, but it feels good anyways because it is just a matter of time until one of them is badass.

I must say I wish the Set item drop rate was increased as those seem to be the big dollars nowadays. Over the whole week only 1 was found by my friend and it was one of the things I had recently purchased from the AH, with not quite as beneficial to me stats rolled on it.

So I went from Paragon level 5 to now having 13, which is like 24% magic find increase and 24 more strength or somethin like that. Me and my friend just started doing MP3 before the weekend finished and though we did die a few more times than in MP2, we still kill things pretty quickly.

Here is my character sheet. I plan on getting some new shoulders and probably bracers next. Not sure what I’m aiming for but it feels like rares are out of the question. It seems like I gotta get two legendaries for those slots (thinking maybe Vileward and Lacunis but, not sure entirely) as legendaries just have more fancy bonuses by default and it is less about getting a lucky roll on stats.

Feels good man, it is kinda like playing D2 all over again, which is exactly what I always wanted out of the game. So it appears time really does heal wounds (because there was so much doubt about that statement hurrrr), even in games. I don’t say it heals ALL wounds because there is always going to be something that could be done in any game. But at the moment, I really don’t have anything to complain about and could see myself playing this for a good amount of time.

5 thoughts on “Time can heal wounds

  1. Hey you Bone-heads!! lol. I’ve been so afk from the blog scene, I’m sorry. I need to trim my reader down to blogs about the games I’m interested in/play. I’m willing to re-download D3 and Lotro if I had some people to play with. Let me know.

      • Awesome thanks for adding me. I haven’t hit level cap on any characters in D3 because; one day it just started lagging hella hard, and I could never figure out why or what was causing it. So I stopped playing it but never uninstalled it. I could log-in and try to see if it’s any better some time.

Leave a Reply

