Still think Facebook games are the future?

I never really did (/hipster). I wanted to be on-board with Raph Koster’s Metaplace (aka meat palace to some), a web based build your own Facebook style game worlds with doors into other peoples worlds. The idea was pretty awesome, I thought, if there are any developers that I want to trust, it’s a lead UO designer. The problem was, I think the developers at that time had been beaten down. It seems only recently that MMO companies are starting to remember that you can still be successful without having 1 million plus users. At the time, everyone who was funding anything wanted the next WoW. WoW, which was the anomaly of the MMO world, they wanted another one. What does this have to do with anything? Well, once Facebook games started popping up, the brow beaten developers saw a light on the horizon. “We can once again be creative and our product will practically automatically be exposed to millions of people!” It seemed like a good idea. Perhaps for some it is. Personally, if I wanted to pay for games like that, I would just go to Pogo.

What will SW:ToR bring to the show? I dare not predict. Eh, I guess I may as well. It will probably be the biggest dip in WoW subscribers in history. Will the new shiny wear off for most WoW players after the first month? I hope not, but I’ve done that a few times now. It is hard to imagine a game that can do such a thing.

All I know, is that Facebook games aren’t encroaching on the MMO market, it could possibly be a nice way to make some money, but I would prefer you put your skills to better use.

One thought on “Still think Facebook games are the future?

  1. Poker is not bad on ol facebooky wook even if i do suck at it

    SW:TOR I think will make a bit of a dent if even just for a few months, depends how people react to the story telling imo. I personally loved it in beta ……….its kinda like playing through a movie 🙂

Leave a Reply

