Haters Gonna Hate

I’ve been waiting my whole life to use this picture in a post, real big and such.

Yes my friends, this post is about haters and their hating and how I hate that shit, ya know!

This is on the topic of everyone’s favorite new MMO, Rift! I know Pitrelli in particular just can’t stop playing this one…. Yep.

Anyways, there are a few things that I feel are missing from the whole feel of the game. Mainly two things, a place to spend my time when I’m at work (read: armory) and a way to tell if this cool new spec I’m trying out is actually any better than that other spec that I also tried out (read: dps meters). Now I understand the arguments against it, kinda, I mean I get that old people don’t want to try harder and you know, enjoy gimping themselves, I get that. What I don’t get is how you can be an adult and cling so hard to this fantasy bullshit where everyone is a unique snowflake and BLAH BLAH BLAH. Dude, some people are better than other people, some specs are better than other specs, and that is just the way it is, just because you don’t want to see that your cool new idea sucks doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t be able to.

What I feel we’re seeing here is Rift providing a home for scorned WoW players. So what happens with every new MMO that has a large group of like minded players? Those like minded players declare themselves the majority (all 4 of them) and speak on behalf of the entire community. Sure half of the servers are PvP but, those guys don’t really exist, it is only us old people who want our game to be old people friendly, aka, carebear land. Yeah that’s right, I said it. Carebears. I haven’t had to use that word in a long time and to be honest I don’t even like to use it because it leads me down a path that usually ends in me being a dick and stepping over some internet line in the sand. Well, fuck it, cus you can gtfo of my game there buddy.

The main argument I’ve seen against DPS Meters and an Armory is that zomg, then everyone will really know what specs are the best! Because if you go to the class forums right now, they’re not already doing that or anything, nope, oblivious to reality is the best choice! Srsly guise! It really is sad tbh, I mean shit, not only are you an adult 30 something who spends most of their free time playing MMORPGs (lol get it) but then you go so far as to not allow cuss words in your vent cus zomg, virgin ears! But now on top of all that you want to delay the inevitable (FAVORED SPECS) by not allowing people ways to check their progress or give themselves tune ups? Why?

Another thing I find funny about these people is that they’re so anti “leet speak”, is what they call it. Leet speak is now a whole group of people, did you know? Yeah, better watch out for those guys! Ignorance is fucking stupid lol. They spend so much time writing posts about how our server needs to be a mature one, gdamnit! Yet the whole time they’re talking about how elitist these bad guys are and zomg we need to stay away from them. Anyone making the connection? Elitist = we’re better than you. Old people are saying to elitists: “We’re better than you.”. Making sense? To me I think back to highschool when the whole “Emo” thing started showing its stupid face. Now what happened was this group of people began acting their own certain way in order to be “cool”. Because they were too cool to be “cool” (with the current cool kids) so they made up their own cool and voila, cools cool is cool and shit. Really fuckin stupid lol.

Anyways, stupid old people are yet again trying to hide their inadequacies at the expense of others’ enjoyment. Oh, yeah, forgot to talk about this all the way. Remember the scorned wow players that I mentioned? Yeah, read the Rift forums on posts where they’re saying how we don’t need DPS Meters and an Armory and all that. A popular argument appears to be “this is not WoW”. Which is fucking hilarious to me because you fucking know that all of those fuckers played WoW so much and now they’re trying to distance themselves from it so hard lol. Fucking funny as shit. My favorite part is where you see an obvious 12 year old who got made fun of in WoW for braining real gud attempting to make an argument against said topics. Gold I tells ya, gold!

Anywyas, love you guys, bai bai.

6 thoughts on “Haters Gonna Hate

  1. I agree, although I’d hate so see how much dps my assassin was handing out…. overall it felt like a poor mans wow rogue. *sigh*

    Im just gonna hush since I said I wouldnt be hating on Rift. Oh and I lurrvvvve that pic, I want one of them as a pet, kinda like a pygmy in a cage.

    • Haha, every day when I get home I open that pic up and zoom in real big, I fuckin love it.

      I’ve felt that a few times with different specs and that’s the problem, how do I know which one I actually do better with? It’s easy to “feel” like you’re doing good, but I’d much rather know.

  2. I just now noticed that kid pee’d himself. And it adds yet another layer of obscurity to its background.

    When you mentioned that some players are better than others, it made me think back to a wow.joysitq or whatever they are running as now, about how everyone in the game will mess up at some point. The odds of them messing up is generally how good a player is because they have a low Failing Point, more or less. The people doing low damage are usually high on the Failing Point-ometer, I’ve noticed, and more than likely they just do not want to be called out so obviously in a brand new game. (Where they can hide.)

    For example: If they are standing in fire, it doesn’t matter if their dps is high. Then again, they are on fire and if they didn’t know that was an undesirable location, odds are their dps won’t be high in the first place.

  3. “some people are better than other people, some specs are better than other specs, and that is just the way it is,”

    These people don’t need an addon. Many people can read tooltips and figure it out for themselves. Other people need a mod to tell them what to do.

    Armory would be nice though for when I’m crafting, otherwise I just write the shit down with a pen.

    I sure hope this post is an attempt at irony.

    • It doesn’t matter if you need an addon or not, people don’t need the 5 in 1 speed super liquefying blender, yet they are still sold all the time. I don’t understand why everyone’s hatin on my blender man.

      I should have the choice to install one if I want it and you should have the choice to not install it, what is the problem with that?

      Whether you want people commenting on your playstyle or not, eventually it is going to happen whether there are damage meters or not.

      No attempt at irony, just calling it how I see it.

      The addon boycot is going to accomplish jack shit anyways, people are already running parsers to figure it out on the fly. The end game is going to be difficult and that means that you have to do better. You will fail and then you’ll have to learn from your mistakes. Would you rather discover your own mistakes via addons? Or would you rather someone else find your mistakes (probably repeatedly) and have them let you know? I’ve got a feeling the former is more appealing. If you’re not planning on fighting the big monsters that Rift is going to offer, maybe you’re going to PvP? Well, you need to be even better at your character there which is just another reason to have damage meters. Not going to PvP or big monster fight? Then why care?

Leave a Reply

