Grinding Rep

Recently on the SWGEmu Trade forums a player began selling the servers best Lightsaber resource at 1k credits per unit (cpu from here on out). The first poster was a competitor who was announcing that this seller was now “blacklisted” due to undercutting him. Turns out the complainer was trying to sell the same resource at 2k cpu. The majority of the following posters thought this guy was just being a sour jackass, which, is pretty much true.

This prompted an awesome old schooler to create a thread giving away 11 million of the same resource, 100k to the first 100 people to reply. So of course, I threw my name on this list. In my post I mentioned that I try to do nice things as often as I can (even though I am new) including making Swoops (fastest vehicle you can get) and selling them for 1.5 cpu on the Bazaar, for the newbs. I mentioned this because in the post the guy also said that he would pick a lucky person to win an additional 1 million, that this would be based on votes from other players, and that the person needed to be nice.

So I check back up on the post occasionally and when I got home yesterday I see a post from the OP, quoting my post, and offering to give me enough of the best resources to make 100 Swoops, to be given away to newbs. So, I accepted.

This is quite exciting, I’ve already been given the resources, and have so far made about 15-17 Swoops. I was able to give 12 of them away last night. It feels good, each person says thank you, with a mix of capslock and exclamation points thrown in for good measure. To make sure I’m not giving them away to non noobs, I examine them first and see if they’ve mastered more than 1 profession.

Sure I could be giving some to peoples alts, but I think the majority will make it into needy newbs’ hands.

I’m hoping that this will create and greatly increase (positively) my reputation on the server. I’m pretty sure right now that I’m unknown for the most part, so this could really help me out in terms of not only possible business in the future but also socialization.

There is another thread on the Trade forums that I’m keeping my eye on. A person is quitting and is looking for someone to be the heir to his fortune. He doesn’t want to split it up, he just wants on heir. I’ve nominated myself (durrrr) and mentioned how I could give a piece of loot along with a swoop to the newb players. If he just gives it to a newb, who knows where it is going to go, the guy could quit the next day and that would be it. Some already accomplished players are trying to get it as well, which puts a sour taste in a few mouths, due to them having say a 1400 max dmg carbine and wanting this so they can get a 1500 max dmg carbine, while many many people have 200-500 max dmg carbines. So they get their 1500 dmg carbine and either bank or sell their 1400 dmg carbine, the only people who could buy it are people who are already accomplished. So it seems like the majority of posters are saying that the loot getting into the hands of someone who doesn’t really need it is the wrong way to do it.

I didn’t say this in my post, but I really wanted to. Another person who is probably in the lead, is the head of a guild that hosts a lot of events. I went to one of these events, where free door prizes were promised, it was a 4v4 PvP tournament. I stood in line for my door prize longer than the tournament lasted, I couldn’t even see the fighting from where the line was, and I ended up just leaving because the fights were over and I was still 30 people back in line. I just don’t think thats the right way to go, the prizes detract from the event (unless they find a better way to do it). I didn’t want to say that on the forums for some reason, probably because I don’t want to give off that image. Also, at that tournament, someone commented that the majority of the line looked like a bunch of brand new alts, which means that some people were probably getting multiple rewards.

Sure, someone could pull a fast one on me, but if I am the one actively approaching people and initiating the trades, I’m fairly certain that the majority of the items would get into needy hands which could really make a difference for the server. As it is now there are the people who have millions of credits and people who are struggling to get to a million, with most good weapons costing at least 2 million, then you need armor which would be 2 million, and then you need buffs for every run which can cost 5-15k (for 2 hours of buffs), finally you need armor attachments and clothing attachments, most of which sell for anywhere from 1 million to 10 million. So there are quite a few people who I think don’t deserve this because they probably wont put it to its best use, for the server, anyways.

I mean damn, the guy is giving away 250 million, and then a shit ton of loot. I could give away all of the loot (save the crafting suits and a weapon or two) and half the money (shit even 75%) and be set until the server is wiped.

Anyways, sure I’m just looking out for #1. It would probably make me a semi known player finally amongst the majority of players. Finally people would know me in an MMO! lol.

A guy can dream can’t he?

Leave a Reply

