Age of Conan: First Impressions

Bringing the “Conan World” to life, check.
Make combat feel new and different, check.
Offer a great deal for buying the game, check.
Have a positive newbie experience, check.
Try and continue that positive experience beyond Tortage, not so check.
Having fun open PvP, check.
Having unique feeling battlegrounds, not so check. (see: Guild Wars)
A rarer class makeup, check. (Nothing seems unique anymore)
Possible for a lower level to kill a higher level, check. (Just beat a 39 Necro as a 33 HoX, and I didn’t even wanna fight)
Up to date information available somewhere on the internet, not so check. (Not really Funcom’s fault, but, if a fan isn’t doing it shouldn’t they?)

I think that’s all I have for now, if I kept going my points would seem redundant.

Tortage is an amazing experience. I wish it carried throughout the game, mainly just the voiced NPCs. When you get out of Tortage and run into your first mute NPC it is a bit disheartening. Doesn’t seem like it would be that hard to get a few people in the office to throw on a fake accent and let er rip, audio dude can tweak shit to make them not sound awful, tada! But I don’t really know what I’m talking about.

Another thing that sucks a bit is, I hate to say the lack of direction (or information), but where the fuck am I supposed to go after Khopsefv (or whatever the shit) Province? I went into that Purple Lotus BS Land and ran into a bunch of big ass mobs and a level 41 grinding. Not the place for a freshly 30 to go. So what I’ve done instead is gone to the Aquilonean version of Khopsefv Province which is called uh, the Wild Lands of Zelata? Yeah that zone sucks ass in terms of terrain and getting from quest point to quest point. Plus I’m just doing grey and green quests for a level and now I’m at the Yellow and Red quests.

One thing I really like is climbing spots you probably shouldn’t be able to. What you do is jump a lot and hold sprint and you’ll just fly up mountains sometimes. There was this one quest in Khopsefv Province to get some treasure chest in the bottom of a pond surrounded by elite mobs. It is supposed to be a group quest, on forums people were saying the best path for soloing is to sneak around and yadda yadda yadda, dodge the elites if you’re lucky etc. Well I didn’t do that. Apparently the pond is at the end of a trail of Elites and after it there is a rather small drop off back to normal land. Well I tried to climb up that little drop off and bypass the elites. I got real close but began realizing they put in an invisible wall to deter my actions! Sons of bitches! There were some Minion mobs (non elite) very near the pond that I tried to jump into LOS and do my “charge” ability to them, no dice. So I went a little further up the trail at a steeper point and tried many times again. Eventually I made it up and beat those fuckers trying to block me with their invisible walls, suck it assholes. Soloing group quests for the win mfker.

I’ve PvPed in one of the capture the skull BGs probably 3 times. The queue doesn’t really fill up very quickly, probably because it is the 20-39 BG, but it’s kinda fun. I’ve always been a lowbie buffed to a 39 (which really isn’t enough to level the playing field between a 20 and a 39) so still a bit squishy, so I die a lot or play cautious. The last game I played I did a lot better, sticking together, rooting bad guys picking them off, separating them, etc.

I can’t wait to get to 40 because when I bought the game I got a free Mammoth for every one of my characters, usable at 40. I wanna ride my donkeh!

2 thoughts on “Age of Conan: First Impressions

  1. Tortage was an awesome piece of work and as stated my favourite starting area in any MMO, I loved the night quests as it made you feel really important and you were the only bad-ass sneaking around after dark. Yup I was already to dedicate alot of time to Conan after that ….. until that is I left tortage and saw that they had forgot to create the rest of the game. Doh!

    I still get the itch to jump in and I possibly will when they offer the next free time – i’ll do so on my better pc to see what changes have been made.

  2. I’ve run through it on a few of the different archetypes and each archetype helps out in a different way which I thought was pretty fuckin cool. Rogues stealth, tanks help Arias fight multiple guys, healers heal Arias, etc. Pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

