LotRO, err I mean LotR:O, err LOTRO, err…

Let’s stick with the first one. LotRO, Lord of the Rings Online. I recently won a free copy of the game courtesy of Kill Ten Rats (Clicky is that way—>). I haven’t played the game since open beta. Now that I think of it though, I think I did. I think I did a free trial at one time, I mean, I pretty much had to. I’m sure if I go back a year in posts I will discover that I have, which I honestly forgot. I knew I leveled a Manstrel (man minstrel) to around 15 (and think I even started Book 1 or some crap like that) and also an Elfanger (elf ranger). I say I just realized this because I just figured out how to get MyLotro to work (hint: use your forum name/password) and saw that I had a 14 Guardian and a 50 Wolfman or something. No Manstrel nor Elfanger.

So I’ve got another account out there somewhere. Big whoop.

I downloaded the game on Sunday, intending on playing all day Monday, due to having the day off and such. I took a nap (read: smoked all day and it always catches up to me in the PM) and woke up at around 11 PM EST. I had about 20 minutes left on the download, awhellyeah! It finishes, starts installing, aaaand I hit my first snag. I need .Net Framework 1.1 or some shit. Turns out Vista doesn’t “come” with it. Download that, install, retry. Okay that works, installation complete. Click play, type in my password, and click okay. Alright it opens up, resizes, and it’s gone. Hmm, let’s try that again. Click play (not an icon on my desktop or anything, noooo, we have to open the download manager and click play every time, joy), type in my password, and click okay. It opens again, resizes, again, and it doesn’t disappear! Full screen mode is entered and the Moria loading screen comes up, huzzah!

Well shit. What class am I going to play? I remember the Minstrel being okay but not really for me. I like being the class that can do anything because it is overpowered. That’s why I eventually made a Mauler in DAoC, why I liked Warlocks in WoW, and Witch Elf in WAR (and Structures Trader in SWG…). Anyways, I remember reading recently about the Rune-keeper being amazing. As in a group of them beat some crazy Turtle encounter in around a minute (and from what I understand Turtles are really hard in this game). So of course I made a Rune-keeper.

Dwarf Rune-keeper to be exact, named Thirmur. Why Thirmur you ask? Well when choosing my name I followed the rules so graciously bestowed upon me by the great LotRO gods themselves. If more games did that, more names would fit in the world, just sayin’.

I leveled to 7 and Dwalin (from The Hobbit, right? been quite a while for me) had one of those instanced, Travel Now, quests. But wait! Before I can continue with this quest, apparently I need to download the game… But wait, didn’t I just do that? I quit the game, check out the download manager, and what dya know the fucker is downloading an 11GB file. Great. That should go over well with my 1.5 mb down DSL, yep. Oh well, I tweak my settings for downloading it, in an attempt to reduce download time as much as possible, I even open up a port. I go back in the game, get back on my Dorf and begin roaming the lands looking for a way out! Nope, not today sonny!

So I rolled a new guy. A Hobbit Burglar, because, well I don’t know why, because it’s what Frodo would’ve done? Hey what dya know, I’ve done all these quests before and I kind of remember that (the same happened for the Dorf but on a much smaller scale). I get to level 7 pretty quickly, maybe an hour, and I go back out of the game to check the download (hurray for alt+tab capability!). So in around an hour or two it has downloaded pretty much 1gb. That’s not great, but it’s something. I figure, if I go to sleep and wake up in 6-8 hours then I’ll only have to wait a couple hours in the morning until I can resume play! I can easily play CS for 1 or 2 hours! So I go to bed.

The next morning my fiance is up and getting ready for work (haw haw, I don’t have to) and I ask her to tell me how close it is before I even think about getting up. At this point I am not planning on taking her to work (we share a car) because I hate having to go pick her up after a day of weed and games. She says it has 1 hour and 7 minutes remaining. Alright! Then she says it has downloaded 2gb out of 11gb. Wait a second, that doesn’t make sense. Upon further review the estimated time of download said one DAY seven hours remaining. Fuuuuck that shit. This is my last day of this weekend, and I’m fucking playing a game I haven’t played in forever, and I’m going to fucking love it god damnit.

It is at this point when I realize what I must do. I must turn off my computer (rare occasion) and put it in my car. I must take Melanie to work. I must pick her up from work while not feeling up to it. Because I must take my computer to my work and take advantage of the FIOS goodness. So I drop her off, go to work, hook up my computer and begin the download. I also begin streaming the Fellowship of the Ring because that’s how I roll. I then go to Burger King for some om nom nommin breakfast. I return to work and I have about 2 and a half hours on the download. I go home, take a shower, and begin streaming the Fellowship of the Ring on Melanie’s computer. Because that’s how I roll.

After my DSL fails at streaming and I’ve got some weed in me, I decide it is time to return to the office. My download has about 50 minutes remaining, awhellyeah! I continue watching the Fellowship for about 30 minutes and check the time again. 30 minutes left! Yay! I load up Steam and fire up CS. Wow, downloading LotRO, streaming Fellowship, and playing CS with a lower ping than I get at my house. Man I need FIOS. So I play some Gungame and surprisingly win and get accused of cheating in the same game, how great? I really need FIOS at home. Before I know it the download is complete and installed.

I fire the game up just to make sure it is done and there are no surprise patches or some shit. When I see Dwalin is willing to talk to me again I shut down, pack up, and head home. I almost stopped by Wendy’s for a triple cheeseburger ketchup only with a medium fry and a large frosty, but I didn’t because I am strong!

Anyways, I leveled and shit. I reached probably 11 and yesterday I made it to 13. I haven’t had any problems fighting mobs, but I did die once and it made me feel bad. It was at that goblin place by Gondamon errr the place before it? The one where you attack 1 dourhand and he comes with 2 goblins then 3 goblins come out as well and rape rape rape. Yeah it never happened again, but it still happened. And now I don’t get any more cool titles like The Wary or The Undefeated. Because I have been defeated. It is almost reason enough to reroll, but I shouldn’t.

I am currently at Thrasi’s lodge. I believe I will be moving forward soon to wherever is next. I remember being in this place and doing most of these quests still, but I cant wait for the new stuff I’ve yet to see. I think that is one of the biggest reasons I liked that UOWoW server, fast leveling, and thus seeing the new zones and beyond where I’ve been. I just like it.

Without further ado, here he is!

In other news:

Leave a Reply

