I’m Normal and Everyone is Crazy

Fer Shizzle.

I have a hard time making it to max level in most MMOs. Is there something wrong with me? Everyone else can over and over, but I on the other hand am no good at making it to max level. My skills are more honed on speed leveling at the lower levels. I am pretty damn good at that shit.

Like before WoW came out. I must’ve made probably 10 Dwarf Rogues and gotten them to level 10 in beta. On launch day I made a Gnome Rogue (same starting place) and wtf stomped everyone to level 10. But then I didn’t know what the fuck to do and everyone went on to become 60, whereas I went on to have 5 toons pre-20.

DAoC: I will fucking kick your ass at leveling to 10, shit, probably 20 with DAoC. For DAoC was my first game to reach max level in, which I have now done close to 4 times (classic ftw/toa sucks a dick). It is the one thing I’m good at (that I know I am good at because I haven’t been proven wrong yet).

I mean the whole not being able to max out in level has really fucked with my head a lot in the past. I mean shit, fucking millions of 12 year olds can do it and I can’t? Fuuuuck me, amirite? I’m serious right now, that shit really fucked with my head because like any responsible mature adult I base my worth on my accomplishments in MMOs.

But now I see. Yes my brothers and sisters, now, now I can see the light-ah! Those who were older and could make it to max level had already gone through what I am, they’ve overcome the hurdle and are great at sucking it up and taking it in the pooper, in ways I could never currently imagine (though I hope to). The kids who did it either: A) Didn’t know any better (like that it is hard to reach max level) or B) Are completely oblivious to pressure and stress because they’re fucking 12.

Those who have trouble reaching max level are one of two types of people (this is fact, I know everything): 1) The type of person who doubts themselves, who doubts their class decision, doubts their pulling strategy, etc and 2) The people who don’t believe in walking, running, sliding, and rofling in jagged shards of glass all for the hope of pouring some burning disinfectant on their wounds.

I believe most unable to reach max level are a bit of both. Usually the prior for a while until they get fed up and turn into the latter.

What the fuck is my point though? Well, it is pretty stupid and did not require all of that bullshit you just read. My point is this: A lot of people don’t make it to max level. I am not some weird fuck who can’t even beat games that technically aren’t supposed to have an end/be beaten (by definition).

Hooray!
Hooray for me!
Hooray for boobies!

Movin to the countreeeeee gonna eat me a lawt o peaches!

Next topic!

Everyone is fucking crazy. Seriously, go around the blogs dealing with MMOs (and not solely WoW) and you shall see. People are fucking stupid and crazy, at the same fucking time. I mean, we knew it was out there, but we never thought it would infect so many of us.

What I speak of is internet newbness. Being baited into something you should’ve seen coming. Roasting, toasting, and boasting usually with the intentions of making others look bad.

Some call it trolling. I call it revealing the goddamn truth motherfucker.

Recently Tobold was tricked, by himself. By who? Himself. Who is the master troll who can bait Tobold into tricking himself? Well, from what I hear he’s a pretty cool guy who doesn’t afraid of anything. A real old school mmo bloggy badass by the name of Abalieno.

Here is the battlegrounds in which this baiting took place.

Here is what Tobold commented (the italics represents Scott Jennings [FUCK YEAH] being quoted by Tobold):

If there’s any game that shouldn’t be afraid of their users reaching max level, it’s Warhammer.

I very much disagree. WAR leveling through scenarios is too fast. The average player on the two servers I play on is already in tier 3, just 3 weeks after release. By end of the year everyone will be at the level cap. And then what? The same city siege over, and over, and over, because there is no other endgame content in WAR.

Why not save several million dollars, let people start directly at level 40, and scratch tiers 1, 2, and 3, if they are only used for a few weeks out of a multi-year lifecycle anyway?

A few comments down the list and we see Abalieno comment as well, here is what he said (with, what do ya know, Scott Jennings [FUCK YEAH] quotes in italics):

And yes, I am aware that Mythic operates or used to operate private forums, and I HOPE YOU SPECIAL PEOPLE ENJOY THEM VERY MUCH.

A long time ago, you used to defend this.

Weird that you didn’t comment at all about population issues with PQs and Open RvR. Or maybe you thought it was covered enough everywhere else.

Also, I find amusing how Tobold avoids to write those opinions on his popular blog.

I don’t know why it didn’t just stop there. I would’ve been fine with that.

But I guess Tobold had a bone to pick with Mr. Badass himself.

Here is what Tobold had to say:

It is not unusual for me to get into an argument with some other blogger about some difference of opinion on MMORPGs. What *is* unusual is another blogger complaining about me in spite of me 100% agreeing with him. Abalieno of The Cesspit has a strong opinion about WAR scenarios. He says “I enjoy scenarios to an extent, but when I’m doing JUST them they get incredibly boring and dull. A chore.” That is EXACTLY what I think, and I’ve been writing about the issue repeatedly in the last days. Scenarios in WAR give the most xp, so everyone just grinds those instanced scenarios, so nobody is left to do public quests and open world RvR.

I proposed nerfing scenarios to give only half the xp, I proposed an automated system to diminish rewards when everyone is doing the same. And what do I get? Abalieno commenting on Broken Toys “Weird that you didn’t comment at all about population issues with PQs and Open RvR. Or maybe you thought it was covered enough everywhere else. Also, I find amusing how Tobold avoids to write those opinions on his popular blog.” Can’t the guy at least read my blog before complaining about me not writing about some issue? I’m sure he could have found an issue on which we actually disagree and complain about that. But saying that I avoid writing something I’ve been in reality bitching about all week feels really weird. Quote me from last Friday “As I said, the occasional PvP scenario is fun, but doing the same scenario ten times in a row isn’t what I want.” I’m with you on this one, Abalieno!

Is this the Presidential Debate? I mean jesus christ, what the fuck are we competing for here? Oh yeah, traffic and ego, I remember.

From there one of Tobold’s commenters points out what I see (while the rest basically rub his balls):

WOW – how completely off-base can one get, this post almost qualifies you as a troll. I actually went to read the comment to which you refer and it has nothing to do do with scenarios.

Abalieno’s comment “Weird that you didn’t comment at all about population issues with PQs and Open RvR. Or maybe you thought it was covered enough everywhere else.” wasn’t even directed to you at all – he was commenting on the Broken Toys piece.

His comment “Also, I find amusing how Tobold avoids to write those opinions on his popular blog.” was obviously about your comment on the Broken Toys blog: (snip)”Why not save several million dollars, let people start directly at level 40, and scratch tiers 1, 2, and 3, if they are only used for a few weeks out of a multi-year lifecycle anyway?”

Yes, you and Abalieno agree on scenarios. No, he did not complain about you or you position on scenarios. He merely pointed out a difference in how you express yourself on you blog and in comments on other blogs.

Funny that your next piece is entitled “Is discussion a dying art?” Maybe you should look in the mirror friend. 😉

Skavvy

To which Tobold replied:

Obviously? Sorry, but in the English language, if I say “I think A. Also I think B”, the more obvious conclusion is that B relates to A. Of course I got that his first comment was to Scott, but it appeared as if the second comment was about me on the same subject, not on a completely different comment.

And as your post starts with calling me a troll, and ends with a personal attack, I don’t think it is a good example of how to discuss better.

First of all let me play with the first part. The excuse.
Disregarding the whole BS A = B shit that didn’t really make much sense to who I would consider the average reader.

Of course I got that his first comment was to Scott, but it appeared as if the second comment was about me on the same subject, not on a completely different comment.

Here is how I dickheadedly translate that statement:
Yes that A=B shit was stupid, of course I knew he was talking to Scott Jennings [FUCK YEAH], but it appeared that my ego gets in the way while reading comments at times and I feel as though I am reading them on my own blog, which is why I created a whole new post on it, because I thought all of my loyal peons thought I had been challenged.

After reading that I wanted to comment, but refrained and came here instead to make a whole goddamn post about it, YEAH!

If I did comment I would have said:
“I guess we’re all a bunch of retards then, eh?”

But this way I can show that there is a better way to discuss, and that is to pick a side, argue it as if your life depended on it, and in the end admit that you’re fucking stupid.

I’m pretty fuckin stupid for writing this.
You’re pretty fuckin stupid for reading it.
But at least we’re pretty fucking stupid together.

2 thoughts on “I’m Normal and Everyone is Crazy

  1. This post is a masterpiece. I read the whole thing and if that makes me stupid then call me stupid but I think it was a work of genius.My favorite part was the boobies, but that usually is my favorite part anyway.

Leave a Reply

