A short time ago in a Galaxy far, far away

SWG FUCKED ME IN THE ASS.

Okay, that is a bit harsh, but I did get screwed and it has yet to be fixed, or, responded to (by customer service or anyone).

Here’s what happened.

Okay, I’m a Trader. There are 4 kinds of traders, but in order to level, you should be structures trader. So, some awesome guy on my server decided to hook me up with a few elite harvesters (around 500k a piece I believe). So, my goal ever since then, besides reaching level 90, is to make my own damn elites and not be a bum who borrows shit from people. I have “worked” hard to get where I am, I say “worked” even though I received a rather hefty handout. However, gathering resources and grinding structures isn’t fun and games, it’s actually neither at all, it’s more like work than almost any other grind I’ve done. But, I do like it.

So, I finally am able to craft elites and boy am I excited. I find out how many I want of each kind, the necessary components/resources, multiply, multiply, add, etc. I spent all day yesterday after work doing the math and planning it out perfectly. The components (precrafted pieces used in assembly along with resources) must come from a factory crate. Which means, me and my 1 factory are going to have to wait for the 4 Advanced Ore Mining Units to finish before I can start the Generator Turbines, followed by the Small Structure Storage Modules which are then followed by the Wall Modules (which require 10 similar Structural Modules, which I made the day before). So, this really did take me all day yesterday to do. Not even counting the Structural Modules used for Wall Modules. I needed 63 Wall Modules, there are 10 Structural Modules in a Wall Module (along with some extra resources). That is 630 Structural Modules I crafted that I’m not even counting.

Now, there are also resources which I had to gather, thousands and thousands upon thousands of resources were gathered. Now, it’s not that bad, but I had to stop gathering grinding resources, so my entire progression was at a stand still for a few days. I’m just trying to get you to see where I am coming from.

Okay, so, I let it run through the night and plan on making my first elites before work today, boy am I excited.

I open my factory’s output hopper and there are 139 components that I have made. I load them into my backpack, and head to where I craft.

Now, when you’re hunting for high concentrations of certain resources, you can wind up pretty friggin far from a city with a Shuttleport. So, what I have learned to do, is, suicide. You’re don’t lost anything when you die, but you awake with a Rez sickness which you pay some credits to a robot and he removes from you.

So, I respawn, and look in my backpack.

I had made 18 Generator Turbines, 4 Advanced Ore Mining units, 54 Small Structure Storage Modules, and 63 Wall Modules.

What I saw in my bag was 3 Wall Modules, and 10 Small Structure Storage Modules. That is 9% of the total amount of components. What was that sound you just heard? That was me breaking down and crying because I can’t believe this shit just happened!

I was about to buy my freedom, no longer be a slave to the man who blessed me with elites.

Everything I had worked for was gone, days, wasted.

So, what do I do? Well, I submitted a “fucking help me ticket” (without the fucking) and started a forum thread asking players their opinions.

The players have said: Don’t use suicide as a teleport service. (Which I’m never fucking doing again btw)
They said try logging out for 10 mins and back in, happens all the time, etc… No dice.
They said try clicking change view in inventory and maybe they’ll appear, nope nope nope.

The only thing that almost makes me feel okay about this is that other people have lost items temporarily and gotten them back. That’s the only thing I’m holding on to.

If this doesn’t get fixed I’m probably going to quit, which makes me sad, I don’t want to but I’m not just gonna bend over and take it. I have a Jedi I could play, but come on, I don’t play the game to be a fucking Jedi. The only reason I have a Jedi is because the Legacy quest and basically the whole fucking game was designed with the idea that everyone and their mother is going to be a Jedi. I just wanted to experience how the game is intended to be, not how I made it to be with my Trader.

Ugh ugh ugh.

Update: A GM contacted me through my “fucking help me ticket” and said he has forwarded my issue to a higher tier, hooray!

2 thoughts on “A short time ago in a Galaxy far, far away

  1. Wow, that’s shitty man. I can’t believe that’s still happening to a lot of players on the forums. It was pretty bad in EQ. Is it a bug or is it an actual feature to get you to not suicide teleport? 😮

  2. I don’t know, I’m sure it’s a bug. From what I’ve heard, all the devs who wrote the shit aren’t working on it anymore, so all these nubs are like shit man wtf do I do to change one fucking little thing? So I’m going with bug.

Leave a Reply

