More news from the front lines in the PvP v PvE war I’m bangin the drums for

Well I was called an extremist (basically) by my new hero, which meh, slightly saddened me, but whatever. I don’t feel like a PvP extremist, I mean yeah I loved UO and being a total dick, but I think it’s just that I’m extremely angry at PvEers and I’ve not released it so I’m fucking full of rage towards those assholes.

The reason I like PvP is for the competition. I don’t want to just be on the winning team, because from what I’ve noticed competing with people online for so many years is that usually the best people are spread around the factions. I like knowing who the best enemies are, I like them knowing who I am as well, mainly only on the battlefield with an occasional /wave on a forum or something. Good PvPers respect each other. Why? My guess is that we were all taught how to have good sportsmanship at some point in our life. You may take that and say well, then how come you’re being such a bad sport with all these PvE people? Well, because I’m not competing with them. We haven’t even played a game together. They hated me the second they found out that I enjoy fighting other people, regardless of whether they’re a PvPer or a PvEer.

To me I can’t help but see them as band wagoners. A PvEer who replied to my comments even proves that they are, almost anyways, imo. To me they’re the kind of people who would hear 1 guildie say something negative about anything and, of course, would immediately go and trash whatever it is, on a forum, chatroom, in game, whatever. That’s why I’m not really a fan of guilds, because every time I join one someone expects the rest to jump on their crusade, all for one and one for all! It’s this blind obedience and sheep-like behavior that honestly disheartens me.

It’s like they’ve given up on their original goals in life and had to make up new ones that fit with their “settled for” “mediocre lifestyle” and are essentially lying to themselves. Which people do, which is why I understand it, hell I do it too (just not on anything as important as well, MY GOALS AND DREAMS, yet anyways).

I don’t even get why they even want to play games. Why not go take care of your fucking kids, since, from my experiences, most PvEers (read: guild goers, raiders, etc) are older people who are drawn in from their table top games of old. Which, brings me to another point. They always say we fucking reminisce of the good ol days in UO and how that’s what we want and it’ll never work it’s such a risk. Well guess what motherfuckers, you’re no fucking different. We want the games to be like our past time, and so do you. Your past time is further back than ours, therefor you are the old and we are the new. Do I have to put the expression here?

Back to why they even play. Some say they like PvE because it’s easy and their life is hard. What I don’t get is why they’re spending so much goddamn time playing a game instead of trying to make their lives easier.

Some say they do it to learn teamwork, for some fucking reason that seems appealing to middle aged nerds. What they don’t realize is that being given a job and doing it right doesn’t involve teamwork, it’s called doing your job. Now, on the other hand, if you’re PvPing, it is fucking teamwork. Sure, you’ve still got your jobs as whatever class/build you are, but you’ve also got strategy and tactics, and so does your opponent. Ultimately I would argue that PvP requires teamwork whereas PvE does not, because playing your role, doing what you’re supposed to do is not teamwork, it’s being a subordinate.

They won’t keep their PvE out of my PvP. That is my only problem with them. I am generally a kind hearted person with a bit of a twisted sense of humor, I consider my skin at least a little tough and I think others should have a degree of toughness to their skin as well.

I’m reminded of some local controversy in my area on the terrestrial radio. A shock jock from back in the day Bubba The Love Sponge has recently returned to the airwaves after being thrown off years ago for receiving the largest fine in FCC history at the time. There’s a little weasel fuck head douche bag who just shovels stupid shit out that the masses of sheep will eat up and his name is MJ, formerly of MJ and BJ which was okay until MJ fired BJ and slowly dwindled down to a shitty little person. I mean this guy’s a sleaze ball, he fires interns, hires new ones and then gives the new one the old ones name so no one will know.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that for the most part, PvEers remind me of everything in the world that I hate. The quitter mentality. The submissive. The settles for less than adequate. The general populous of the world.

You know up until this point I always thought I was a quitter. But now, it seems as though I’m not. I just don’t settle for mediocre crap.

I even played DnD a few times even though I’m pretty young. It is a fun game, it really is. But I can’t play it anymore because there’s one guy in charge. If that guy is a total fucking tool (usually the case) then you’re going to be bumping heads. Maybe that’s the point. I just know I’m not going to allow 1 individual to be my leader, to control me.

Fucking zombies everywhere man. They’re all pussy footin around just tryin to bite your neck so you’re as unhappy as they are and it fucking sickens me. The guy asks me more than once to give up. He’s telling me to not like what I like, who fucking does that? You old fucking guys are the past, the sooner you realize this the sooner the world will return to the happy fucking dream you thought it was at one time before my kind showed up. Well guess what, you were like me one day, and the old guys of your time told you to give up. I bet you ended up telling them to give up, didn’t you? Watch the Lion King my friends, it’s the fucking circle of life, and there’s nothing you can do to prevent it.

Anyways, here’s what he said and my response to him, I hope you’re entertained, and I hope you stay away from the dark side.

WE ARE PVPERS, WE ARE TEH FUTURE!

Darkmoth Says:
January 25, 2008 at 1:56 pm

Games are a business, skilled players doesn’t bring in the shekels, sub counts do. It’s irrelevant how good you and your ilk are, what’s important is…how MANY of you there are. How big is your market segment. See where this is going?

Just give it up about niche games being viable, niche games only happen on niche development budgets, and you PvPers are just as spoiled as us PvEers. Shadowbane. Fury. Yeah, they were buggy POSes, but that’s what you get on a niche budget. You don’t get a WoW or a WAR when the publishers know they are going to attract 150k people MAX. If you DO get a WoW or a WAR you can be damn sure they want Billy HappyJoy to play – they need to pay back the millions they spent on making a polished, bug-free game.

Screw what the developers say. The devs are on a salary just like you and me, and you certainly don’t get to make policy for YOUR boss. How many times does a game have to be published in BETA quality before people realize that the money calls the shots, not the vision. And what does the money say? “The more players the better”.

What’s ironic is, the more “skilled” you are, the rarer you are, the smaller your market segment and the less likely you are to find a game that targets you. If you DO find a game that is intended for you, it won’t run two consecutive hours without crashing, or will be developed in VGA colors. You won’t play it, and it will die. You don’t get the massive gameworlds and deep designs, because they COST TOO MUCH to rely on a relative handful of malcontents.

“Hardcore” PvPers are the Flight Simmers of the new millenium. The genre has moved past you, instead of Falcon 4 and Jane’s Longbow you will get MS Flight Sim X. It’s laughable to think you’ll be able to negatively affect anyone’s gameplay. You are simply the boogyman under the bed. Chained and caged, you will rage harmlessly while the sheep who pay the bills point at you and say “how scary!”.

Get over it already.

My response:

Bonedead Says:
January 25, 2008 at 3:08 pm

I would love to follow you around in any game, no matter how gay it is, and just kill you over and over.

You seem to have confused PvPers with PvEers. I don’t want to claim to speak for all PvPers, but I know I don’t need massive gameworlds or deep designs, KISS. Shit, my computer has trouble running a lot of these new shiny top of the line graphics games already.

I think it’s amusing that you, in your carebear state, have already tried to (possibly subconsciously) claim Warhammer as your PvE lovefest. I say this because of what you say here: “You don’t get a WoW or a WAR when the publishers know they are going to attract 150k people MAX.”

Isn’t Warhammer centered on PvP? That’s what I heard.

I seriously cannot wait for this game to come out. I don’t even really want to play it, I’m a bit more interested in Conan. But you know what, nothing would make me happier than to be the boogyman chained and caged in the PvP zones, while you and your ilk are cowering in your PvE zones looking out at me shaking in your little epic booties.

Maybe I’m taking this too far, but I really don’t care. I don’t feel bad about any of this, except that it’s taking place on Syncaine’s blog, it really shouldn’t be there. I doubt he’ll read this but if he does, I’m sorry dude.

One thing I’ve noticed in my years on the net and in games is that while the PvPers appear ruthless, ganking, and borderline desperate, the PvEers can be more harsh. Why? Well for one they’re usually more eloquent(and they’re really fucking full of themselves with their BA/BS in English). They’re also in guilds with tons of people who will /send you more times than you’d like to remember(ever read of the slave pets some of these wow women have in their guilds?). On the other hand, the PvPers are just more immature saying things like “lolz ur gay faggot”, like that’s gonna hurt your feelings. If anything you’ll find 3 of them together at most imo and they’ll all be equally dumb, there’s usually one who is the moral leader and he’ll be a bit more quiet and intelligent.

I wish we could live together peacefully. But every new fucking game that comes out they see as their new PvE heaven, which isn’t right imo. It’s called being FUCKING GREEDY. You’ve got tons of fucking good PvE games out. You realize that you’re similar to a virus or plague that spreads and destroys everything. Shit, Syncaine said in one of his posts that PvE end game requires new content all the fucking time. Whereas PvP end game only requires players, therefor less money, less content updates, less upkeep.

I wanted to try and end this on a kind note, but seriously, fuck that and fuck PvEers trying to bring their stupid fucking kill a scripted mob mentality into Warhammer, a game that’s is supposed to be centered around PvP.

Essentially we’re just two animals with two kinds of fun (we’re just better at killing, and they’re better at crying*).

*You can cry with your wallet.

Leave a Reply

